Cleveland Browns Jerseys

Mike Furrey Named the 09 Recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award

Wide receiver Mike Furrey has been chosen by his Cleveland Browns teammates as the 2009 recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award. The Ed Block Courage Award is an annual recognition given to a member of each of the 32 NFL teams who exemplifies the qualities of Ed Block, the former Head Athletic Trainer of the Baltimore Colts. The qualities of courage, compassion, commitment and community serve as the criteria. All 32 winners will be honored at an event in Baltimore on March 7-10.

Furrey joined the Browns this offseason and has made his presence felt both on and off the field. After missing the final six games of the 2008 season due to injury as a member of the Detroit Lions, Furrey has responded this year by playing in all 11 games. He ranks second on the team with 23 receptions for 170 yards. In addition to his offensive responsibilities, he has also seen extensive action as a defensive back, totaling two tackles and two passes defensed, including breaking up a potential touchdown pass in the end zone last week at Cincinnati. Furrey also has been very active in the community volunteering his time with the Cleveland Foodbank, Cleveland Christian Home, Cleveland Clinic Rehab Hospital, NFL Hometown Huddle and numerous school visits, among other community events.

Cleveland Browns Ed Block Courage Award Winners:

1999 DE Derrick Alexander

2000 LB Jamir Miller

2001 OL Jeremy McKinney

2002 TE Mark Campbell

2003 DE Courtney Brown

2004 RB Lee Suggs

2005 LB Kenard Lang

2006 K Phil Dawson

2007 DB Gary Baxter

2008 WR Joe Jurevicius

2009 WR Mike Furrey

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Browns Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply